Artless Fast Five Hits the Box Office This Weekend

Fast Five

Directed by Justin Lin

If you’re looking for an artless, “bro” movie, I have one for you. Fast Five is the fifth movie to the Fast and the Furious series. Ex-con Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) teams up with ex-cop Brian O’Conner (Paul Walker) to do one last job.

I asked myself before I went into the movies to see this with my co-host: why make a fifth movie to a series that should have ended with the first movie? My question was surely answered with stats from opening night of this film. Making over $30 million on opening night, Fast Five has its fan base, which is all it needs to make money (boxoffice.com). Who cares if there is little to no character development or plot? People want to see muscles, cars, and the boring takes of Rio on the big screen. (The third one is a joke; believe me I’ll get back to this point.).

This film also features Toretto’s and O’Conner’s ragtag team of characters from past Fast movies. From Tyrese Gibson to Chris Bridges (Ludacris), this film features them all. Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is in this movie as well. He plays Dobbs, a determined police commander set out to find these fugitives. Johnson gives a forgettable, over the top performance.

I don’t think I really need to go into the plot so much. Just watch the first four movies and you’ll have an idea of what this movie is about.

I said I’d get back to the aesthetics of this film. Well, there isn’t any. I promised myself during the movie if I saw one more take of the “Jesus the Redeemer” Statue, I would leave. There was three takes of the statue, along with about 10 takes of Copacabana Beach, and countless takes of the hillsides in Rio. If you didn’t understand that you were in Rio by then, I feel sorry for you. I think Justin Lin could have cut these shots down to, let’s say, one of each and it would have been better. Also, it would have cut down the running time of the movie by a good 20 minutes. There was absolutely nothing in this film that jumped out at me as being an aesthetic take on the scene. Nothing. The most interesting shot I can remember in the whole movie is as seen below:

Fast Five Aesthetic

That’s not saying much. This movie does nothing to try and change the history of chase movies, or historic chase scenes within film history. I did not expect it to, either. Which is the mindset I hope you have when you go to see this movie.

If you’re looking for action, cars, muscles, and a secondary plot line and little to no character development, Fast Five is the movie for you!

This entry was posted in Aesthetics, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artless Fast Five Hits the Box Office This Weekend

  1. Nick Hunter says:

    Nice…you should see Hanna, it has some interesting aesthetics to it, and an AMAZING soundtrack 🙂

    • bowmanst says:

      I’ve heard, from my co-host Adam (from Once Upon a Time in the Movies), that Hanna was amazing. He had also talked about the soundtrack to that movie as well! He said that the only thing that he didn’t like about the movie was that the soundtrack wasn’t used enough. You can see this on his blog.

      Thanks for the suggestion! I plan on seeing it when it comes out on DVD.

Leave a Reply

